A $$$ Lesson!

Boy, I made a DOOZIE today!! A COSTLY doozie!!

But yet a MOST valuable lesson!

In recent years, since the kids have gotten older and more independent, I’ve launched out into graphic design. We’ve been in the sign industry since we were married, 23 years ago, with Phil doing the majority of the artistic work. I just did the accounts and all the secretarial stuff for the business. But now, I’m able to put my creative talents to use as well, and generate more income for the business.

Except for TODAY!!!

Over the past couple of weeks I’d been working on an A4 broucher. The customer wanted 10,000 of them and they were his main source of advertising. Well, after much diligent work, I got them to the point where they looked pretty good. I was happy with them, AND the customer was happy. So I sent them off to the printers. All was going well and to plan …. so far!!

Well, they came back from the printers today. They looked FANTASTIC! So at lunch time I decided to ring the customer to let him know they’d arrived and I’d deliver them in a couple of hours time.

So I dialed the number that I had on the broucher, and get a message, “Your call could not be connected. Please check the number and try again.”

Guess what? I had the phone number wrong!! The last digit was a “2” instead of a “1”.

But everything else was right and it looked wonderful. What was wrong with just one little “1”?

EVERYTHING!!!!!!!

So I looked at our options. Thought of getting a sticker over it, and did some pricing on that. But really that wouldn’t be good enough. It would look patchy. And the customer, who was very kind about the whole deal, is not happy to have a sticker.

So now, guess what?

Yeah, I have to get the whole 10,000 printed AGAIN!!!… with the RIGHT phone number this time! šŸ˜¦

But this has been valuable life lesson, in more ways than one….

….. ’cause it got me thinking about other things in life.

How often we strive and strive. We do our very best, but somehow it never seems good enough. We always seem to miss the mark…. always fall short.

And you know what? We might also try our very best to please God. But our BEST is NEVER good enough. We may think, “Hey, that’s not fair of God. Can’t He see I’m at least trying?”

Well in the Bible, that’s what “sin” means. It is missing the mark, falling short of the goal. And with God, as with my brouchers, near enough is NOT good enough. The Bible says that ALL have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Our good works will NEVER cut it for us.

Well then, how do we ever get right with God? Will he EVER be pleased with us?

Well hey, I have GOOD NEWS!!!!!! The answer is YES!!! There IS a way! And Jesus is THAT way!

He, the Son of God, who was spotless and without sin, and who always pleased the Father, came to earth as a man. He lived a sinless life, and then He gave His life for us, by dying on the cross for us to pay the penalty for our sin (our shortcoming), so that we could have relationship with the Father. He died for our sin. He took ALL the rap for us, so that we could be FORGIVEN. Then He rose to life so that we could be FREE!!!

That is what is called GRACE! We are made right with God, not through anything we can do, BUT through what Jesus Christ did for us on the Cross. All WE have to do is BELIEVE it. šŸ™‚

As the Bible says:

“God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you canā€™t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.” (Ephesians 2:8-9, NLT)

To read more about this, go to Romans 3:9-31 and Ephesians 2:1-10.

So, the lesson for ME!? I’ve learned I am NOT good enough. No matter how hard I try, I will NEVER be good enough. My efforts will NEVER please God. All I can do is call on HIS mercy, and say, “God I need Your help! I can’t do it on my own. Thank you for Your grace. Thank you Jesus that you have paid the price for me. I stand before God in Your righteousness, and not in my own. You took my place, and You stand in my place before God, the Father. So I believe in YOU!!”

