Keep the Customer Satisfied!!

I often think of that song by Simon and Garfunkel.  Sometimes I can really relate to these lines:

And I’m one step ahead of the shoe shine
Two steps away from the county line
Just trying to keep my customers satisfied,
Satisfied.

And boy, sometimes I don’t like it!!

Yeah, today was one of those days where things don’t turn out as you’d expect.  I had what seemed a simple task to do of designing a couple of simple business cards for a customer.  Should knock it over pretty quickly, so I thought!!

But nope!!!  Didn’t happen like that!!!  I struggled all afternoon to make one of them look right.  I eventually did get it finished and the proof sent off to the customer.  Hope he likes it, and I don’t have to make any more changes on it!

So why did I struggle with this?  Why did it seem so hard?

Then at other times when I’m having fun fiddling around with my photos I get a brilliant idea for something inspirational, and then within half an hour I’ve got the thing done.  IT’S EASY!!!!!!

WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE??

I’m sure there’s others of you who can relate.

Why do we sometimes struggle like that with work?

I put it down to one of two things.  Either God hasn’t meant us to do it, or the enemy is putting a blockage in the way to stop us doing the thing that God wants.

Or could it be, that might we try to do in our own strength, and in our own strength we’re pretty lousy at it?  But when God is behind it, it flows easily!?  So the work is not ours but God’s.  It is He Who equips us.

And regarding creativity, I’m reminded of Bezalel and Aholiab in the Old Testament.  Do you know those guys?

Well, God called them as artisans for the building of the tabernacle.

They were filled with “the Spirit of God, in wisdom, in understanding, in knowledge, and in all manner of workmanship, to design artistic works, to work in gold, in silver, in bronze, in cutting jewels of setting, in carving wood, and to work in all manner of workmanship….
…. I have put wisdom in the hearts of all the gifted artisans, that they may make all that I have commanded you.”  (See Exodus 31:1-11)

It seems to me, that when I do something for God, it works, but when I try to do it for myself or for money, it doesn’t come easily.

Did the Lord allow me to struggle today to show me something?

Love to hear your thoughts!!!

